Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4
David A. Bucher Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B87
Scope and Contents
Papers, 1769-1912, including letters, 1861-1874, written to David A. Bucher, dentist of Shade Gap, Huntingdon County, Pennsylvania and later, of Bridgewater, Rockingham County, Virginiaa. The letters are from relatives and friends in Bridgewater, Virginia, Martinsburg, West Virginia, Hancock, Maryland, Orbisonia, Carlisle, McConnellsburg, Gettysburg and Round Grove, Pennsylvania and Polk City, Iowa. One letter concerns the Battle of Gettysburg. Collection also includes legal...
Dates:
1769-1912
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia Counties Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents
Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.
Dates:
1600-2000; Majority of material found in 1730-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
C. L. Worthington Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 W89
Scope and Contents
The collection also contains miscellaneous manuscripts and account books. Included in this material are: land grants, 1761 and 1766, for land in Fairfax and Frederick counties, Va.; eighty-five survey maps of Frederick, Fauquier, and Loudoun counties, Va. and Berkeley and Hampshire counties, W. Va.; road petitions, 1743-1828, for Frederick County; affidavits for Revolutionary War service; correspondence, 1923-1930, of the Improved Order of Redmen, Great Council of Virginia; letters written...
Dates:
1752-1938
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
George Wythe Papers
Collection
Identifier: SC 00600
Scope and Contents
Manuscript in the hand of and signed by George Wythe, giving legal advice to the recipient who purchased land from John Twitty, the title which could be subject to the payment of a judgment recovered by the King against Twitty in a case before the General Court. If John Twitty will not recant the bonds for payment of the purchase money, Wythe advises the recipient not to pay the money until the suit is ended or until he can be assured he will not be evicted. October 13, 1774....
Dates:
1774 October 13, 1801 January 26
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center